Okay - now that we've heard the controversy and the defense, let's get my opinion because not only am I black, white, and everything in-between as a mixed race person, but nothing is too sensitive here. So I'll start with this: Don't bother responding if you aren't going to read the entire post. If you do read the entire post, feel free to respond.
Here's what kills me about this kind of topic.
We have dogs. We have different breeds of dogs. Spaniel, bulldog, shepherd, terrier, etc.
We know that there are different traits in different dogs. Some are smarter than others. Some have better physical abilities. Some have better senses... But when we look at humans, who also have different breeds that we call "races" we have to pretend that they're all exactly the same.
It's just such bullshit... And I say that as a person who has undergone genetic testing. Testing that has shown that I am not only black, but that I literally have every single "breed" of humanity in my genetics except Asian. That's right, if you add Asian to me I am a literal representation of the human race as a whole. Jewish? Got it. German? Got it. African? Got it. Spaniard? Got it. South American? Got it. Native American? Got it. Nordic? Got it. Indian? Got it. You get the picture.
So, being so thoroughly mixed I am probably the closest thing to a "default" or "neutral" party one can have racially. Unless I have a kid with an Asian woman anyway. So, let's just get the "racist" analogues right out the window from the gate.
Now to my opinion on the issue:
Why is it that people can accept the claim that blacks outdo whites in every physical sport that we take part in, and that's perfectly fine - It's apparently not racist at at all, despite the fact that it isn't even true. (We do better in many sports, but not all like rowing and swimming.) Still, the general point remains sufficient. - but the second it seems that whites do one thing better than blacks, even though they do it worse than Asians, it's a problem? That they must be just trying to promote "white superiority" despite quite clearly putting themselves under Asians?
And let's face it - the differences between races or "breeds" of humans is pretty negligible. The amount of points that whites do better on the tests aren't a huge difference, it's barely there. Same with the difference between running speeds, or basketball shots. But since people are making such a big deal of it...
Well, why can't people look at the data and just go "Huh, that's interesting, how can we use that data to make things better for everyone?" Why do they instead immediately go "You fucking racist!"
That is the problem of identity politics, and that is the point Sam Harris was trying to make, over and over and over again.
I am a mixed breed or "race". I could get the best of every mix I have, the worst of every mix I have, or more likely the good of some and the bad of some. But here's the real thing - this discovery of the differences across races? Could be used to further racial acceptance rather than hatred if people were willing to use it the way Sam hopes.
We could encourage racial mixing, in an effort to breed out the negatives that different races hold, while enhancing the positives they hold. Certain races are more likely to get certain diseases? Mix them with the ones resistant to it. Certain races are more physically capable? Mix them with the ones more mentally capable. It could literally be used to show that the KKK (and other groups like them) is just scientifically wrong to encourage whites only mixing with whites, used to show that merging people instead of separating them is the only way to truly be the best that we can be.
This data could be used to finally unite humanity into one race - one breed - that is vastly superior to all the various breeds we currently have, one that is of every breed, and has the best of them all, a shining example of what humanity at it's pinnacle could be. Or it could be used to focus on one tiny area that whites do better than blacks, and degraded into some stupid racially charged debate.
Thing is? Even the leftists who are complaining about the studies? Aren't actually thinking about what good could be done with them. The only thing they're thinking about is their social and political fears. Because they're blind as fuck, and so focused on being politically correct that they fail to take advantage of what is right in front of them. Why? Because doing this could only be done by encouraging interracial marriages, which would only come about on a mass scale with the mixing of cultures, which so doing would eliminate racism, solely because everyone would be the same race! All it would take is using the data for good instead of for bad.
It isn't the data itself that is the problem, it's how people use it. Multiculturalism would be the answer to pushing us as humans as far forward as we can possibly be - by literally using the data to prove that we need to mix to get the best of every "race" or "breed" that we have... but they don't push that agenda. Makes you wonder why not.
No comments:
Post a Comment